Kia Ora and Welcome

from the Wairau Valley Special School Board of Trustees


The Board of Trustees is accountable to the Ministry of Education and is empowered to act in a governance capacity. Governance is about vision and the translation of vision into policy. Accordingly board members are in effect the school’s overseers and are required to act in the best interests of the staff, students and parents of its school.

The Board of Trustees’ responsibilities includes ensuring that the financial model and budget are followed; translating the school’s vision into policy and most importantly, enabling the senior management team and all staff to implement the Strategic Plan and carry out the core business of the school. It is not the task of a Board to play a management role but rather the Ministry employs the Principal and staff to fulfill this duty. Management is about making the decisions needed to implement policy.

The current board is a dynamic mix of members with previous board experiences and new perspectives that continually challenge the status quo. As a board, we appreciate the extra lengths our staff go to, to provide the quality of education we as parents/caregivers now demand. The importance of support from home and the community is also appreciated and is essential to providing a consistent message that Wairau Valley Special School is creating an environment for students to continually progress and challenge themselves.

We are all proud to be part of the Board of Trustees and thrilled to be contributing to Wairau Valley Special School to ensure the best possible environment for students and teachers to get the most from their days at school.

If you ever have any suggestions or compliments please do not hesitate to contact me as Chairperson, a BOT member or the School Principal. We want to know so that we can take the appropriate action.

Copies of all of our Policies, School Charter, annual Reports, Annual Plan and our Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes are available upon request.                                                                                                                          

Parent Representatives
Angela Clarke
Anahi Zeccini
Jeanette Sell
Gaylene Ward
Nick Allen
Community Representative
Mike Weinstock
Tracey Wingfield
Staff Representative
Elsie Scriven
Natalie Todd